Can I install Yahoo Desktop Search and X1 (v4.09) together?

Current users of the YDS product should use this section of the forum to post questions/answers. This may not be moderated, but is here for existing YDS users to help other users get answers to their questions.

Moderator: Mods

Can I install Yahoo Desktop Search and X1 (v4.09) together?

Postby Yabba » Mon Dec 26, 2005 2:54 am

I am a newbie. I would welcome some advice.

I would like to compare the latest version of Yahoo Desktop Search (version 1.2 - build 1582je) with X1. I have got YDS installed.

People here seem to suggest that X1 version 4.09 would be a good starting point.

QUESTION ONE: Is it possible to install and run both of these at the same time on the same machine?

QUESTION TWO: If not, then is it possible to keep my old YDS indexes in this way:

(a) uninstall my YDS
(b) install X1
(c) let X1 use the indexes from my previous YDS.

Thank you for any help.
Yabba
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 1:48 am

Postby w0qj » Mon Dec 26, 2005 6:59 am

I don't think you can install both YDS and XDS on same computer at the same time.

I've tried to install YDS over X1 almost a year ago (around X1 v4.09 era), and the error message said you need to uninstall X1 first.

Have not tried this recently, so don't know about newer versions...
Rgds / Mr. Wong

"It is what X1 can do with the information found that is important."
w0qj
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:53 am
Location: Hong Kong


Return to YDS (Yahoo! Desktop Search) users

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron