Use X1 for default Outlook Search

You've got questions? We think we have some answers!

Moderator: Mods

Use X1 for default Outlook Search

Postby cokelid » Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:08 am

Using X1 Pro 6.7.3, Windows 7 64-bit, Outlook 2010 (v 14.0). Recently switched to X1 from Windows Search.

In Outlook I am used to using the default Outlook search box, right there on screen above the list of messages, and easy to jump to with Ctrl+E. I would really like this default search to be done via X1 (just as it used to be done by Windows Search).

I know I can click the Add-Ins tab then click in the search box, but this is slow and mousey and somewhat inconvenient. Ctrl+E quick, easy, is the default Outlook key-press and is pre-programmed in my head now?! Any ideas how I can get this working with X1?

Thanks,
Justin
cokelid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:43 am

Re: Use X1 for default Outlook Search

Postby Kenward » Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:30 pm

Have you investigated the X1 Deskbar?

Not quite what you describe, but a useful shortcut.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Use X1 for default Outlook Search

Postby cokelid » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:04 am

Thanks Ken,

I do have that (and it takes up way to much screen real estate I think, but that's another issue). But what I'd really like is to search within Outlook!

Thanks again,
Justin
cokelid
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 3:43 am


Return to Questions and Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests

cron