Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

You've got questions? We think we have some answers!

Moderator: Mods

Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby imranym » Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:54 pm

Hello All,

I have recently changed my PC and when reinstalled X1 i have been facing two problems:

1- Whenever the application starts, an error dialogue box opens stating

"filts819.exe - Application Error"
"The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000005). Click OK to close the application"

When I click OK, the application actually starts.

2- The second problem which is bigger is i have not bee able to complete my index. About 60% through and i get an error "Viewer Installation failed. Restart X1"
Restarting and even re-installing hasn't solved the problem.

i have read many threads related to the second issue however they have all been for a newer version and somehow didn't work for me.

Thanks and Regards,

Imran
imranym
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:32 pm

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Kenward » Mon Oct 15, 2012 7:18 am

That is one old version of X1. Maybe you installed it on a PC that has some missing ingredients.

Have you tried installing a version that is not so long in the tooth?
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Chris Wheaton » Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:45 am

imranym - If you go to Windows Explorer and navigate to C:\Program Files\X1\Stellent - you'll find the filts819.exe. You could try double-clicking it to see if it will extract properly.

That said, particularly if you're trying to install 6.0 onto a Windows 7 system, this product is not known to have the ability to install onto that operating system. Even if you can get it to install properly it is not known to be a valid X1 product to use on Windows 7 and will have limitations and possibly some minor bugs that would not make 6.0 the best choice for you.

I suspect you may not have in vested in X1 for a number of years which would mean you'll need to re-license in order to get the current Windows7 compatible software. You can make the purchase at www.x1.com - Click the Buy Now button.
Sincerely,

Chris Wheaton
Technical Support
Customer Care Rep.
______________________

www.X1.com
Chris Wheaton
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby imranym » Mon Oct 15, 2012 11:19 pm

Dear Chris,

Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately, there is no stellent folder in C:\Program Files\X1. The three folders available are 'extensions', 'resources' and 'Yahoo Toolbar'
imranym
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:32 pm

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Chris Wheaton » Tue Oct 16, 2012 8:06 am

Then you should attempt to Add/Remove the existing install completely - do not save settings. I recommend a reboot and then try again... but if it still fails, as I stated earlier, this is likely due to incompatibilities.
Sincerely,

Chris Wheaton
Technical Support
Customer Care Rep.
______________________

www.X1.com
Chris Wheaton
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby imranym » Sat Oct 20, 2012 2:18 am

Dear Chris,

I just invested and upgraded to 6.7.4 (4054). The software is working perfectly fine.

Thanks for your help

Regards,
Imran
imranym
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 11:32 pm

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Kenward » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:25 am

Not all software "upgrades" are purely cosmetic.

Let's hope it will still work when people start Windows 8.

I don't think I will rush to do so.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Chris Wheaton » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:19 am

Imran - I'm pleased to hear that you're doing well again. Thank you for your support of the X1 product. Going forward, with your purchase, you can submit a trouble ticket at the X1 Support portal (www.x1.com/support). You log in with your email address and the password you established during the purchase process.
Sincerely,

Chris Wheaton
Technical Support
Customer Care Rep.
______________________

www.X1.com
Chris Wheaton
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Chris Wheaton » Mon Oct 22, 2012 7:21 am

Kenward - while we have not published an official position of compatibility just yet, I will say that preliminary testing shows that X1 6.7.4 can run on Windows 8.
Sincerely,

Chris Wheaton
Technical Support
Customer Care Rep.
______________________

www.X1.com
Chris Wheaton
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 1:00 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby Kenward » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:19 am

Good news. I didn't expect problems, but with W day imminent, the question will rise up the agenda.

Me, I have no plans to dive into Windows 8, although an offer on a cheap SSD drive might tempt me.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Help Needed with X1 6.0 Build 3565

Postby superkev72 » Sat Dec 15, 2012 5:46 pm

X1 7 Beta died the second I upgraded to Windows 8. Many problems that included the failure of the service starting, the main client then just freezes and fails. I uninstalled entirely deleting everything I could find and reinstalled beta 7 and encountered significant problems. I'm quite technically savvy but finally gave up on getting X1 7 beta to run. I've been using the Windows 8 search and while it's much more powerful than the one in Win 7 it's both slow and difficult to control. Also the Windows 8 charms search is a joke and why it even exists I don't know.

X1 search is by far the best and I miss it greatly. Going to try 6.7.4 and see if I can get that going. Crossing my fingers.
superkev72
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 2:32 pm


Return to Questions and Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests

cron