How do I transfer X1 Desktop Search Pro

You've got questions? We think we have some answers!

Moderator: Mods

How do I transfer X1 Desktop Search Pro

Postby LPCH » Thu May 23, 2013 6:48 pm

Hello,

Could you please tell me how to transfer my X1 Desktop Search Pro software and settings, from my old laptop to my new laptop? I recently received a new laptop at work, and would like some instructions on how to do this. Thank you so much. God Bless.
LPCH
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: How do I transfer X1 Desktop Search Pro

Postby Kenward » Fri May 24, 2013 3:37 am

Which version of X1?

If it is prior to Search 8, then you need to run the installation program, the one that you used to install X1 on your old laptop.

If you have lost that, then you may be able to login to the support area and download the last version that your licence covers.

As to transferring configuration, this is complicated. I wouldn't advise trying anything beyond copying "Saved Searches" between PCs. If you have other settings that you really do want to copy, tell us what they are and someone might have a bright idea.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: How do I transfer X1 Desktop Search Pro

Postby LPCH » Fri May 24, 2013 8:52 am

Hi, I'm running version 6.7.4, I still have my invoice and my order reference number when I bought it last year. But when I go to the "product support" page its asking me to pay for help. Is there another way to download the old version 6.7.4 without paying for it? Thank you so much.
LPCH
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 23, 2013 6:41 pm

Re: How do I transfer X1 Desktop Search Pro

Postby Kenward » Fri May 24, 2013 9:24 am

Can you login to the Support Portal? You should see the login options here.

Product Support for Desktop Search

You don't need a current support contract to get in there. When you bought X1, you probably used an email address. If you don't have a password, ask it to send you one. If it doesn't recognise you, then you may have to contact them by email.

There really is no need to pay again, unless you want the new version.

When you do manage to login, it should show you the link to the 6.7.4 Client. Download it. PUT A COPY IN A SAFE PLACE. Then install it.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to Questions and Answers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 124 guests

cron