Page 1 of 1

WebRSS plugin on 6.2.4 = Firefox 3.5 opens with error

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 2:40 pm
by SteveMRose
I just installed Firefox 3.5 and now X1 Professional Client Version 6.2.4 (Build 3631bp) (Created: Tue Mar 31 23:49:10 PDT 2009) causes Firefox to open with a error message that is an HTML page. IE7 does not do this.

I played around and uninstalled the RSS plugin, and the error stopped. I did not have X1 configured to read RSS feeds, so it must have been some error connected with the lack of feeds.

This is what is in the Firefox error box in the middle of the screen:

file://C:\Documents and Settings\srose\Local Settings\Temp\X1\Error.html

Once I removed the RSS plugin, this stopped happening.

steve rose

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 2:02 am
by Kenward
I'm afraid no one can read your local drive to get at that image.

What I can say is that here at least Firefox 3.5 and X1 live together well enough. (That's more than I can say for some of the Firefox extensions that died.)

But I am using the "Blackbird Beta" (Build 3775) version of X1.

If you need it, maybe you could reinstall the WebServicesPlugin.

X1 plugin error with FF3.5

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:42 am
by SteveMRose
Ken,

Sorry my message was confusing- I did not mean for anyone to read my c: drive- that line is the error message I get in the popup box.

"file://C:\Documents and Settings\srose\Local Settings\Temp\X1\Error.html"

X1 is producing an error page that is html and since FF is set to open all html pages, it trys to open this X1 produced page but it is not there, so I get this popup error message.

I don't think I will be using X1 for RSS feeds so it is not needed for me.

Thansk
steve

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:49 am
by Kenward
Ah. I was expecting a link to a picture somewhere with an error message.

I have seen this sort of thing before, when people link to a local file!

This looks like a link to the sort of junk that X1, and other programs, leave behind. Do you ever empty out that directory?

I do from time to time.

How is X1 opening Firefox for you to get this error?