Liking the search history & (imperfect) power state mgmt

X1 Professional Client 6.5 (Beta)

Moderator: Mods

Liking the search history & (imperfect) power state mgmt

Postby tq » Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:37 pm

This beta version of x1 is a big step forward for me. I’ve had 3 problems with x1 in the past:

• Lack of search history – how many times have I wished for a “back arrow”? I don’t usually save searches, but I do have an occasional need to repeat a search – for example: after a priority interrupt, I need to go back to a document I just found. Now I can do it with the drop down box on the main search bar. I’d still prefer a “back arrow” but this is good!
• Inability to continue working after resume from hibernate – Using x1 on a laptop has been interesting. I’ve been using since 2004 – in those days, x1 just crashed and wanted to send error messages on wakeup; that behavior improved in recent versions, but only slightly. Until now, X1 has simply disappeared and required a fresh re-launch on wake from hibernate. This new beta stays active! Hurray!

One important idiosyncracy: X1 seems unable to detect changes in power source from battery power to AC power.

• Inability to support dual display – Haven’t tried it yet but I see release notes say this is still an issue. But…many thanks for the great improvements on the other items.

It looks like two of the three are now fixed in this beta, and that's good news! Thanks.
tq
X1 Power User
X1 Power User

Postby Kenward » Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:06 am

I also noticed that X1 could not tell the difference between mains and battery power. But I have just moved X1 from my old Sony to a new Samsung and wondered if it is due to the way in which the new laptop reports its status.

What make is your laptop? Maybe we can see a pattern.

I did manage to get it to index on mains power by toggling the setting for "Allow indexing when on battery".