X1 no longer searches content

Do you want to see something in X1? Do you dislike something about X1? Let us know!

Moderator: Mods

X1 no longer searches content

Postby bruceDouglass » Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:23 am

I'm having a strange problem with X1. :( Note that X1 *used* to work ok but now it won't content search files UNLESS the search string appears in the name or path of the file. For example, if I search for the term "subsystem" which appears in many powerpoint (Office 2000) files, it onlt finds one file and the string appears in the path name.

I've looked at indexing options and tried searching EVERYTHING as well as File Names and sizes, plus content for specified extensions. I've checked the specified extension list and PPT is on it.

The problem occurs with all files. In the example above, the term "subsystem" appears in dozens of Word documents as well but those files are not found.

This is repeatable problem - in fact, I can't get it to find any string unless the string occurs within either the filename or the path.

I've tried reinstalling X1 (version 5.2) but it still doesn't work. I tried installing the new version but it refuses to run and dies with an exception. And, as I said, it used to work.

I do have multiple (4) monitors on my system - is there a chance that is causing the problem? I'm grasping at straws here ...

thanks
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:53 am

I can't see multiple monitors casing problems. Then again, I have a mere pair of the beasts.

I guess that you have already told X1 to reindex everything from scratch.

As you have already been through the uninstall/reinstall process, maybe you want to try it again. But this time be as thorough as possible in cleaning up after the uninstall.

In particular, delete the old folders left behind by X1. If possible clear out left over bits and pieces in the Windows registry. (I can't recall if X1 has a tool for this.)

Then do a clean install and see if that improves things.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Tried that ...

Postby bruceDouglass » Wed Feb 20, 2008 10:13 am

I had tried what you suggested before but I figured it couldn't hurt, so I tried it again, making sure that I deleted the directories and content left over from X1 after the uninstall - same problem - X1 can hold find files when the search string is in the name of the file or path.

This is especially frustrating because this used to work!
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:19 pm

I assume that you have checked that X1 is indexing the folders where these files reside.

How long have you had X1 at work?

It can take hours, or even days, to do a first run through a large amount of data.

The behaviour you see may be a clue. X1 will index filenames first. Then it goes for content. So it will find things with the right path before it finds content.

Have you ensured that the index schedule is as aggressive as possible? (Try "Never delay indexing" then leave the thing alone for a few hours.

You could also create a "search view" that includes some of the columns for the indexing state of your files. "Date Last Indexed" "Indexing Status". Stuff like that. This helps in diagnosing problems, especially with PDF files.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby bruceDouglass » Wed Feb 20, 2008 2:24 pm

I've had X1 for months on this computer, including leaving the computer on overnight most of the time. I'll try what you suggest though, forcing it to index it's little heart out and see what happens. This behavior has been bugging me for a few weeks now.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Stellent is not available

Postby bruceDouglass » Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:21 pm

Interesting. When I add the indexing status column, the values for all rows is "Stellent is not available". Any idea about what that means?

BTW, the indexing completed, but I'm seeing the same problem.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Thu Feb 21, 2008 3:33 am

Oh dear; that one. As I understand it, Stellent is third party software (now from Oracle) that X1 uses in "text extraction" and viewing found files.

This is an error that I first encountered in the beta tests. It seems to hit just a handful of users, although the number seems to be growing. Indeed, we should now make it one of the first tips when trying to troubleshoot indexing issues.

You can get some idea of what people have done in the past by searching the forum on "stellent" and "available". (Try also "stellant" which is how they spell it, wrongly, in the X1 KnowledgeBase.) That should find most of the relevant messages.

My suspicion, no more than a hunch, is that something is getting in the way, perhaps some other software that we have on our PCs.

I found that it eventually "went away" but still it rears its head again from time to time. I have just found a handful of files showing that status.

The only way round this with single files is to move them out of their folder and then back again. In this way, X1's live indexing picks up the file and tries again.

This is not a solution in your case. When I was trying to sort it out, I clear the index, and then added my folders a bit at a time, doing as little as possible on my PC in the process.

By the way, a good way to find dodgy files on the indexing front it to put "-OK" in the "Indexing Status" column. This will show the different flavours of error that can cause these problems.

Unless you can get a definitive solution to this, you may have to look elsewhere for indexing software. I don't like saying that, but the apparent lack of progress on this issue is not encouraging.

Unfortunately, the folks at X1 do not seem to have any clues as to why it happens. Nor have I seen any signs that they are even investigating the issue any longer.

Maybe someone from X1 can step in any give us an update on progress.

If you have paid for X1, then you might want to file a support request.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby bruceDouglass » Thu Feb 21, 2008 8:24 am

Thanks for the explanation. That at least helps me understand what's going on.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Greg Dawes » Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:49 am

Hi Bruce,

What version of X1 do you currently have installed?

From reading the posts, it appears that you have v5.2 installed. Is that the case?
Greg Dawes
QA Engineer
X1 Technologies
http://www.x1.com/company/contact-us
Greg Dawes
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Postby bruceDouglass » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:11 am

Yes, I have 5.2 installed. I am unable to install a later version, as I get the exception error when trying to run it. I've tried several things to get it to run including a number of clean installs after removing the install directories and indicies but I can't get the later versions to work.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:16 am

I ran into the "cannot install" issue recently. It turned out that X1 had left some rubbish in the registry.

I will see if I can find the message where I reported on the junk I deleted.

One way to try to fix such matters is to reinstall the version you already have, if there is a copy lying around somewhere. This can mend errors in the registry.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Kenward » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:34 am

Can't find the exact details of what I did but this message may help with resolving left over rubbish.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby bruceDouglass » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:55 am

I did try to reinstall the 5.2 version - several times. I've tried the registry cleaning, no effect. 6.1 doesn't install. 5.2 installs but won't index files because the the"Stellent" issue.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Sun Feb 24, 2008 3:42 am

One last try. If you have not received the following information already, you might want to have another go:

    1.Close all open programs including Email and X1 using File > Exit
    (Verify that the X1.exe process is stopped via Task Manager.)
    2. (If possible) Uninstall X1 using Control Panel > Add or Remove Programs - if prompted to save your current settings/preferences,
    respond "No"
    3. Remove these folders from your system (some of these may not exist), also check Stellent:
      C:\Program Files\X1
      C:\Program Files\Stellant
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application
      Data\Findwell
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\X1 Desktop Search
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Temp\X1
    (If you do not see the Local Settings folder, then from Windows Explorer, click on Tools > Folder Options > View and make sure that Show hidden files and folders" is selected.)
    5. Remove any of these files that exist from your system:
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Common\winback_system.dat
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Common\winbackA_system.dat
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Common\winbackB_system.dat
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Common\winbackC_system.dat
      C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\Microsoft\Common\winbackD_system.dat
    6. Install X1 - This will require that your index be rebuilt.


I think you will find that you see the "Stellent not available" issue because you are trying to get an old version of X1 to work. You may have more luck if you concentrate on that rather than Stellent.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby bruceDouglass » Sun Feb 24, 2008 8:54 am

Thanks for the hint. I'll be out of town for a few days, and I'll give it a try when I get back.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby bruceDouglass » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:15 am

Ok, I made time to try your recommended approach. I followed all the steps and reinstalled the latest X1 (build 3575) on my system.

What I get is an X1 installation that just won't run at all. WHen I try to run it, I get the X1 splash screen displaying the message "Initializing Applciation" and it just hangs there. In the active program toolbar at the bottom of the screen, there are two x1 icons. If I mouse over the second one, it displays the text "error", but all I can do is right-click and select "move" (which does nothing) and "close" which closes X1. I do see the x1 icon in the system tray. If I right click on that, the options are "Run X1" which does nothing, and "Show in System Tray" which is selected. If I look at Task Manager processes, I see that X1Systray.exe is running.

Interestingly, if I look at "Program files/X1/Stellent", that directory is empty.

Here is the contents of systrag.log in Documents and Settings/<user>/local settings/application data/x1 desktop search:
2/24/2008 11:52:56:687 AM (824) - -- Systray Start --
2/24/2008 11:52:56:703 AM (824) - Systray starting...X1 Desktop Search
2/24/2008 11:52:56:703 AM (824) - Last: 0
2/24/2008 11:52:56:703 AM (824) - Window (1443702)
2/24/2008 11:52:56:703 AM (824) - Startup display icon.
2/24/2008 11:52:56:703 AM (824) - Display Icon: True
2/24/2008 11:52:56:718 AM (824) - Tray icon display changing.
2/24/2008 11:52:56:718 AM (824) - Showing tray icon.
2/24/2008 11:52:56:734 AM (824) - Success
2/24/2008 11:55:00:484 AM (824) - Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:55:00 AM
2/24/2008 11:55:04:593 AM (824) - LButtonX1Window: 0
2/24/2008 11:55:16:125 AM (824) - RButtonX1Window: 0
2/24/2008 11:55:26:781 AM (824) - WndProc icon message display icon.
2/24/2008 11:55:26:781 AM (824) - Display Icon: True
2/24/2008 11:56:54:937 AM (824) - Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:55:00 AM
Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:56:54 AM
2/24/2008 11:56:56:531 AM (824) - RButtonX1Window: 0
2/24/2008 11:57:27:375 AM (824) - WndProc icon message display icon.
2/24/2008 11:57:27:375 AM (824) - Display Icon: True
2/24/2008 11:57:35:937 AM (824) - Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:55:00 AM
Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:56:54 AM
Exit Code: 0 at 2/24/2008 11:57:35 AM
2/24/2008 11:57:56:265 AM (824) - WndProc icon message display icon.
2/24/2008 11:57:56:265 AM (824) - Display Icon: True
2/24/2008 11:57:56:812 AM (824) - RButtonX1Window: 0
2/24/2008 12:02:25:531 PM (824) - RButtonX1Window: 0

Surely I can't be the only one who is having this problem.
- Are there any known incompatibilities with XP Pro Media Center or installed applications or Hardware (This is a DEll computer with 4 displays running on an SLI video backplane)?
-My system configuration is: XP Pro, v 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2, Build 2600, Total memory 2,048 MB, Available physical memory 1.16GB, hard disk memory free 673GB (out of 927GB total).
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am

Postby Kenward » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:35 am

Why do you think you are not the only one with this problem? Some issues can be so rare that they really do affect only one person.

I have seen no reports of compatibility problems. Then again, I am not at all familiar with XP Pro Media Center.

If it is the installation package that falls over, have you retrieved a second copy, just in case the original is corrupt?

What X1 does when it installs is to check for earlier versions. It then tries to uninstall it. If it cannot, it sometimes just surrenders, although usually with an error message of some sort.

My Stellent folder has a single file, "outsidex.ocx" and a "Filters" folder with 200 "objects". If your folder is empty, something is going wrong during the installation.

From what you say, the installation has "succeeded". Is this the case? Does that mean you have got at least one step further than before?
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby bruceDouglass » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:45 am

During the installation, it appeared to succeed, but fails when it tries to actually run. I agree something is wrong with the installation but it's hard to debug since I couldn't find an installation log that lists the failed step.
bruceDouglass
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 8:13 am


Return to Feature Requests and Gripes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 63 guests