X1 just wiped its index

X1® Professional Client Version - Raptor builds (both Beta and Release Candidates)

Moderator: Mods

X1 just wiped its index

Postby Kenward » Sun Feb 14, 2010 4:56 am

Working on something that is not at all out of the ordinary, I suddenly got a message telling me that X1 was in conflict with something else and had lost the index.

The message came and went too quickly to grab it.

I went back to X1 and indeed there is no index.

Worrying.

Now for another couple of days' overnight running to rebuild the index.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby tjh » Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:15 am

Where you running a disk defragmenter at the time? I had this happen a few times before when I was running jkdefrag. I stopped using it and I haven't seen the problem since.
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby Kenward » Sun Feb 14, 2010 1:52 pm

I had the beta version of PerfectDisk 11 running.

I have used it for some time with X1 without problems.

Here's the message I got.

Image
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby tjh » Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:00 pm

Yes, same message I saw a few times with JKDefrag.

It seems that if something else is locking the database files, X1 gets sad and throws its toys out (can't really blame it though, there's no easy way to recover from such situations.)
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby Kenward » Mon Feb 15, 2010 2:57 am

But I have never seen this behaviour in X1 before, and I have always had PerfectDisk running.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby Kenward » Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:06 pm

Oh well. It has just happened again.

No beta version of PerfectDisk this time. Latest full release.

I will see if it helps to tell PerfectDisk to ignore that bit of the system.

Pity no one from X1 has anything to say.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby Greg Dawes » Fri Mar 26, 2010 8:09 am

Kenward,

While we do receive reports of this message occasionally, it's not something that is reported frequently.

The message, "An error was encountered while indexing. Another program may be locking X1's files. The database has been cleared and indexing has been stopped. Restart it to try one more time. If the problem recurs, try closing other programs until indexing is complete.", appears to indicate that, at some point, another program placed a "lock" or was accessing one of the X1 index files, which are essential for X1 to operate, and when X1 went to access the file(s), access was denied.

On our end, we have no way to identify the offending application and it will require sleuthing on your end to isolate the issue. If you are able to replicate the issue, I recommend that you try starting your computer in "Safe Mode" and see if the problem still exists.

Applications that have been known to cause this issue include, but not limited to: backup programs, antivirus scanner, antispyware application, disk utility/defragmentation, and media managers. The fix is to exclude the X1 index folder from being scanned/monitored by the offending application. To determine the current location of your X1 index (this is not really for your benefit Kenward since you already know this, just those who are reading), open X1 and click on Tools > Options > Indexing > Current Location. By default, X1 index locations are located here:

XP -- c:\documents and settings\<username>\local settings\applications data\x1 desktop search
Win 7/Vista -- c:\users\<username>\appdata\local\x1 desktop search

Please let me know if you have additional questions or you're able to identify the cause.
Greg Dawes
QA Engineer
X1 Technologies
http://www.x1.com/company/contact-us
Greg Dawes
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby Kenward » Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:49 am

I have just told PerfectDisk to ignore the appropriate folder.

I will see if I can find anyone with similar experience over at PerfectDisk.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4099
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby spirus60 » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:30 am

any new insights on this topic? I've been running X1 without incident for many years and just today started seeing the file lock error message and X1 wiping the index. I've even taken the step of removing x1 and reinstalling it given that there seems to be no clear way to see why X1 is taking such a drastic measure - of course - this didn't help at all.

what gives?

in the ServUsage file it says....
Merge State Reload done at 10/08/2012 3:22:04 PM DB access locked too long! (4167 mSec, Version: 4054eu Stack: 0056FFB9 00576A86 005DC87B 005CEA6E 005CEB63 005D9A0F 005D9AB2 005A6B7D 00599D6B 005A4A92 0041C6B8 0040408C 75B63398 77389EF0 77389EC0) Erasing DB (100,CommitError)
10/08/2012 3:31:12:467 PM - CurrentlyIndexedTotal: 0
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - Cleaning up singleton X1 object
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - X1Obj = 022DDCD0 Outstanding item num instances exist
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - Terminating scanner...
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - DB access release: 0
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - Scanner shutting down
10/08/2012 3:31:12:483 PM - Waiting for termination
10/08/2012 3:31:12:561 PM - Releasing databases
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - Scanner shutdown
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - Scanner terminated.
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - Terminating extractor thread...
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - All threads terminated.
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - Uninitializing COM
10/08/2012 3:31:12:841 PM - Setting shutdown events


Which DB is locked and how can I diagnose this issue? Looking around is not going to work. I've also run in safe mode (as listed in this thread) but ran into the same issue but with less messaging. I've also run X1 as the adminstrator but with the same outcome. Help!
spirus60
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:26 am

Re: X1 just wiped its index

Postby pcguy » Mon Jan 27, 2014 8:32 am

Apologize for reviving an old thread like this but I am about to give up on getting X1 Pro 6.7.4 working with Thunderbird email program on Win 7 x64. I too am having this problem. I have spent countless hours trying to figure out what is going on with X1 and it is frustrating me to no end. Per http://help.x1.com/entries/21092673-Why ... d-Cleared- I have added the X1 folder mentioned in that FAQ article to the exclusion list in my antivirus program NOD32 as well as to Malwarebytes Anti-malware. I am also using CrashPlan on line back up and excluded that folder from being backed up. The error still occurs!

I have shutdown all programs running in the system tray and performed a manual reindexing of Thunderbird email. No problem. I then enabled them one by one and did manual indexing again no problem. Yesterday Thunderbird and X1 ran fine with all the normal programs running and no error. Then at 00:30 AM the error popped up. I put CrashPlan to sleep and after rebuilding the index which takes 30 minutes it completed properly. I checked and Crashplan has never been backing up my Thunderbird profile folder where my email is being stored so its not that. I think there is something else going on with X1 other than this data directory mentioned in the above article.

I am at my wits end and am about to remove X1 software altogether and forget about using it altogether.
pcguy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 2:29 pm


Return to X1 Professional Client - 6.7.x (Raptor)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron