FastMM and FreeMem errors

X1® Professional Client Version - Raptor builds (both Beta and Release Candidates)

Moderator: Mods

FastMM and FreeMem errors

Postby Kenward » Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:43 am

I am seeing occasional strange errors when I close X1.

Image

Any idea what it might mean?
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4107
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: FastMM and FreeMem errors

Postby Greg Dawes » Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:31 am

Hi Kenward,

In speaking with my engineers, they've informed me that this is a rare error that occurs when the application is shutting down and multiple threads involved in the process get out of sync. It does not impact the closing process or performance of the application. We would be interested in knowing if this occurs frequently, in which case we can suppress this message as it serves no useful purpose.

Please note that we did receive a couple of reports of this error in recent weeks, but rather than simply suppress the message, we decided to leave it in the final product in the hopes of discovering the exact conditions under which it occurs.

Please contact us directly if you continue to see the error and are willing to help us to chase this down.
Greg Dawes
QA Engineer
X1 Technologies
http://www.x1.com/company/contact-us
Greg Dawes
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: FastMM and FreeMem errors

Postby lakeside » Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:08 am

I too have just seen this same error message. I noticed this post was back in 2010. Do you have any additional information on how to prevent this error message?
lakeside
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:04 am


Return to X1 Professional Client - 6.7.x (Raptor)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 34 guests