X1 wont index .asp file types :(

This forum is to discuss general things about X1.

Moderator: Mods

X1 wont index .asp file types :(

Postby mgranic » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:21 am

I'm a developer and I really like the indexing features of desktop search...I've been using it for several years. But one file type wont seem to get indexed. I have alot of .asp files on my system and even though I've added that extension to the file list (was not there for some reason), it still wont find these files when doing a search.

What's the problem?
mgranic

Postby w0qj » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:43 am

At the risk of pointing out the obvious, did you try manually enable XEC indexing of *.ASP files' body contents?

Tools>>Options>>Files>>[More_Indexing_Options]

Then, do these two:

a) [Specify_File_Types], you add in *.ASP

b) Make sure XEC is indexing the folder(s) where your *.ASP files are located

Good luck!
Rgds / Mr. Wong

"It is what X1 can do with the information found that is important."
w0qj
X1 Guru
X1 Guru

Postby mgranic » Thu Dec 06, 2007 10:52 am

w0qj wrote:At the risk of pointing out the obvious, did you try manually enable XEC indexing of *.ASP files' body contents?

Tools>>Options>>Files>>[More_Indexing_Options]

Then, do these two:

a) [Specify_File_Types], you add in *.ASP

b) Make sure XEC is indexing the folder(s) where your *.ASP files are located

Good luck!

Thanks for the response. There's never a risk of pointing out the obvious :)

But in this case, I have added the ".ASP" as an extension. If you add "*.asp", then it converts it to ".*.ASP" for you for some odd reason, so I just kept the ".ASP" extension. And I am indexing the entire drive and it picks up other file types, but for some reason not this one.

Here's a thought; can the file types that show in the default file types be updated or added to through some mechanism?

Any ideas are greatly appreciated :)
mgranic

Postby w0qj » Thu Dec 06, 2007 8:52 pm