Page 1 of 1

Latest version & Vista

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 2:45 am
by henryg_1
The release notes say that X1 can replace the Windows search engine as the default, or words to that effect. But after I upgraded I cannot find out how to do this .

Henry

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:00 am
by Kenward
That's a good question. I just said "Yes" when it offered me the choice on installation.

I have a related question. How do the Windows settings affect X1?

For example, if you look at a folder's attributes, there is an Advanced bit that offers to "Index this folder...."

My guess is that this does not affect X1, which has its own control panel. But it would be nice to have confirmation.

These questions just how that we need a bit of advice on how X1 works with Windows.

The release notes for the new version have advice on how to disable Windows indexing:

To disable Windows Search on Vista follow these steps:

* 1. Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services.
* 2. Find the "Windows Search" service.
* 3. Right-click on the "Windows Search" service and select Properties from the menu.
* 4. On the Properties > General tab, click the "Stop" button to halt the service, and select "Disabled" from the Startup type pulldown.
* 5. Click OK to apply the new settings and close the Properties dialog.

Windows Search is now disabled. Close the Services control panel and rejoice.

We need the steps on how to get X1 going instead.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:23 am
by w0qj
Also, can't seem to switch to X1 in Win'XP:

Control Panel >> Administrative Tools>> Services >> Indexing Service

But can't switch to X1.

(Can Win'XP use X1 as default search engine at all??)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:01 am
by henryg_1
Kenward wrote:That's a good question. I just said "Yes" when it offered me the choice on installation.

Was yours a first install, or update/upgrade?

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 3:55 am
by Kenward
Update.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 5:22 pm
by Kurns
On my fresh install of 3591 on to Vista Enterprise x32, I also did not get any prompt about allowing X1 to be the default search engine.

Tried a re-install and same thing. What are we missing here?

PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2008 4:20 pm
by Greg Dawes
For this prompt to occur, please note the following:

- You must be running Win Vista with SP1 installed -- (i.e. this does not apply to users with Win XP or Win Vista without SP1 installed)

- You cannot be performing an "upgrade" installation of X1; however you can choose to uninstall X1, save your preferences/settings, and then reinstall X1

Please let us know if you meet these conditions and are (are not) seeing the prompt to set X1 as the default search engine during the installation process.

Thanks.

PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2008 1:59 am
by Kenward
Is there any way to tell Windows to use X1 after you have installed X1?

That might help people who misses the prompt.

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 9:27 am
by Greg Dawes
Yes, you can. Vista SP1 users can go to:

- Control Panel > Default Programs > Set Default Programs
- Select X1 from the list (on the left)
- Choose to "Set this program as default"