Outlook Data Source does not show

This forum is to discuss general things about X1.

Moderator: Mods

Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby mmccarty » Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:32 am

Under Configurable Data Sources, Outlook does not show.

I tried making myself admin of the machine and launching X1, re0installing, doing a repair reinstall, etc. Nothing seems to work.

I am running 8.0.1. I had the same problem running 8.0.0 but after so many re-installs/ under Admin and not as Admin eventually one time it was magically in there.
mmccarty
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:44 am

Which version of Outlook do you have installed?
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby mmccarty » Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:28 am

Outlook 2007
mmccarty
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Thu Jun 20, 2013 4:48 am

Is there a properly configured Mail Profile in Windows?

Apologies for the questions, but "does not show" provides very little information to go by.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby mmccarty » Thu Jun 20, 2013 6:22 am

When I go to MENU > DATA SOURCES to see the Configured Data Sources it lists:

AOL, Gmail, IMAP, Yahoo, Sharepoint, X1 Server

..no Outlook
mmccarty
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:06 am

I was asking about your Mail Profile in Windows. This is outside X1.

In the Windows Control panel, look for Mail. Then "Show Profiles".

If Outlook is working properly there will be at least one profile there. And that profile will link to the PST data files. (There may be more than one.)

In the past people have tired to index Outlook PST files without having Outlook installed. That won't work.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby mmccarty » Fri Jun 21, 2013 6:16 am

My Outlook email is setup properly. I use Outlook 2007 connected to Exchange 2010. My Mail Profile is set up properly or else I would not be able to use Outlook; I do not use .pst file though. I connect directly to Exchange - the only file it places on the computer is a .ost file. I do have caching turned on - but even turned off, X1 does not see Outlook as a DataSource. In any case - this was working under 8.0.0 - now with 8.0.1 it doesn't.
mmccarty
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:46 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Jogy » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:28 am

Hi,

Is your Outlook 32 or 64-bit? The bit-ness of X1 must match the one of Outlook. Usually it is detected by the installer, but in some cases it is not, and you will have to force the correct installation.

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby smartcard » Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:43 am

In my case too I do not see Outlook as a DataSource. This was working under 8.0.0 - now with 8.0.1 it doesn't.

Please help
smartcard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:40 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Thu Sep 12, 2013 1:25 am

smartcard wrote:In my case too I do not see Outlook as a DataSource. This was working under 8.0.0 - now with 8.0.1 it doesn't.

Please help

I think you mean 8.1.0. See all the other messages about yesterday's fiasco, brought about, it seems, by the dreadful delivery mechanism that X1 uses for its software.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby smartcard » Thu Sep 12, 2013 2:18 am

I have gone back to 8.0.0 till X1 find a solution.
smartcard
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:40 am

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:29 am

smartcard wrote:I have gone back to 8.0.0 till X1 find a solution.

They have.

READ THE MESSAGES.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Outlook Data Source does not show

Postby Kenward » Thu Sep 12, 2013 3:34 am

If anyone else out there is waiting for X1 to "find a solution" and finds it impossible to track down that solution, just go to this message:

X1 Discussion • View topic - X1 Search 8.1 Release - Resuming *Update*

If that doesn't work, then explain why. If you don't then X1 will assume that the solution it has already offered is just fine.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests