How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Please post all issues related to X1 Search 8 Releases here!

Moderator: Mods

How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Postby shiphen » Mon May 01, 2017 7:47 am

Hello

Is there any way to STOP X1 Search [ v8.5 6001qm (64bit) ] from searching as you type?

X1 simply isn't fast enough on my system to do this, with the result that keystrokes are not being recorded!
My system:

Samsung Series 7 Ultra Notebook 128GB SSD 13.3" [laptop]
RAM: 6GB DDR3 System Memory at 1600MHz
Hard drive: SSD drive 512GB mSATA Samsung (380GB free)

Data:
.OST file - 2GB
.PST files - 16GB

If it is possible to stop X1 from searching as you type, how is this done?

Thanks

J
shiphen
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:00 am

Re: How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Postby Jogy » Mon May 01, 2017 8:22 am

Hi,

You can go to the Options from the main menu, then to the Search tab and the first option is "Search as you type" - uncheck it.

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Postby shiphen » Mon May 01, 2017 8:53 am

Jogy wrote:Hi,

You can go to the Options from the main menu, then to the Search tab and the first option is "Search as you type" - uncheck it.

Jogy



Thanks - easy when you know.

To give you some feedback, I am fairly computer literate but I simply failed to see that those what you call "tabs" were actually clickable, because they were greyed out. Very often in other applications grey-ed out means NOT clickable. Trying to help...!

J
shiphen
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:00 am

Re: How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Postby Jogy » Mon May 01, 2017 2:04 pm

shiphen wrote:
Jogy wrote:Hi,

You can go to the Options from the main menu, then to the Search tab and the first option is "Search as you type" - uncheck it.

Jogy



Thanks - easy when you know.

To give you some feedback, I am fairly computer literate but I simply failed to see that those what you call "tabs" were actually clickable, because they were greyed out. Very often in other applications grey-ed out means NOT clickable. Trying to help...!

J


Yes, the tabs are not very obvious - we are making some improvements in the incoming versions

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: How can I stop "search as you type" on X1 v8.5

Postby Kenward » Tue May 02, 2017 6:04 am

Jogy wrote:Yes, the tabs are not very obvious - we are making some improvements in the incoming versions

Jogy

Is this the promised next beta trailed a month or so ago?

While you are at it, please fix the broken behaviour of the "Show Navigation Tree" manoeuvres.

X1 Discussion • View topic - Navigation Tree Hide/Show does not work

Ta.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4109
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to X1® Search 8 Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests