Two more bugs

Please post all issues related to X1 Search 8 Releases here!

Moderator: Mods

Two more bugs

Postby Kenward » Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:17 pm

The new beta does not respect my positioning on my dual-monitor arrangement.

Every time I restart Windows, X1 goes where it wants to, not where it was when I last left off.

It also ignores my hotkey settings.

Hang on, I have just changed it and it does work.

I tried Ctrl + Alt + X, it complained, wrongly, that this was "Already registered". So I changed it to Ctrl + Alt + L. That didn't work. So I switched back to Ctrl + Alt + X and that did work.

OK, with that working, next I tried Ctrl + Alt + L again. Guess what. "Already registered".

Never accuse programmers of being logical.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Kenward » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:15 am

Another day, another annoyance.

As expected, X1 opened where it wanted to this morning. But the hotkey that worked last might (Ctrl + Alt + X) is broken today.

Is there any reason why we are restricted to Ctrl+Alt?
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Kenward » Thu Mar 06, 2014 3:19 am

OK. So changing it to Ctrl + Alt + L worked.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Kenward » Sat Mar 08, 2014 4:03 am

Kenward wrote:OK. So changing it to Ctrl + Alt + L worked.


Yesterday it worked fine with Ctrl + Alt + X. Today it is bust.

Maybe it needs a daily nappy (diaper) change.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Jogy » Mon Mar 10, 2014 5:50 am

Kenward wrote:Another day, another annoyance.

As expected, X1 opened where it wanted to this morning. But the hotkey that worked last might (Ctrl + Alt + X) is broken today.


Kenward wrote:Is there any reason why we are restricted to Ctrl+Alt?


There is no technical reason, I guess it is just for simpler UI that other options are not offered.

As an alternative, you can assign any valid Windows shortcut combination to the desktop icon that launches X1.
This way it will also have the advantage that it will not require the X1 service to run - but the shortcuts that you can configure from within X1 work only when the X1 service process is running.

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Jogy » Mon Mar 10, 2014 6:04 am

Kenward wrote:The new beta does not respect my positioning on my dual-monitor arrangement.

Every time I restart Windows, X1 goes where it wants to, not where it was when I last left off.


If you close and then reopen X1 - does it restore correctly the position? Do you shutdown Windows while X1 is running?

In the data folder, in the file UIConfig.xml, there should be a section like this:
<ScreenConfigurations>
<ScreenConfigurations VirtualScreenWidth="2960" VirtualScreenHeight="1050">
<MainWindowMaximized>True</MainWindowMaximized>
<MainWindowX>0</MainWindowX>
<MainWindowY>0</MainWindowY>
<MainWindowW>1260</MainWindowW>
<MainWindowH>744</MainWindowH>
</ScreenConfigurations>
</ScreenConfigurations>

this is where the screen positions are kept for different resolutions and monitor combinations.
How does the section look for you? Does it change when you change X1 position?

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Two more bugs

Postby hangie » Wed Mar 12, 2014 7:57 pm

I'm also getting problems with the hot key assignment. I previously had Ctrl-Alt-X assigned, but now that isn't working and when I try to use that assignment it says it is "already in use". I then shutdown X1 after changing to Ctrl-Alt-Y and when I restarted it again said that "Ctrl-Alt-X" was in use. When I opened the options it was using Ctrl-Alt-Y which is still working.

Strange behavior.
X1® Search 8.4.1 (Build 5003pj 64-bit)
Win 8.1 Enterprise 64bit, Office 2013 32bit.
hangie
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:40 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Two more bugs

Postby Kenward » Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:43 am

Not just me then.

Nothing actually seems to work here.

Looks like they have abandoned us keyboard cowboys.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to X1® Search 8 Releases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron