X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Check in here for general discussion about Search Version 8

Moderator: Mods

X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby NigelL » Tue Mar 29, 2016 3:43 am

I use the CTRL-CTRL hotkey option to launch X1, but find that this does not change the "focus" to the X1 search field. This is really irritating/inefficient since one then has to click the Search Field before you can enter the text you are searching for. Keyboard - Mouse - Keyboard. Does anyone know of a setting that will fix this?
NigelL
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:24 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby NigelL » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:14 am

Does nobody else experience this UI issue? I have X1 installed on 3 computers (I have 2 licenses) and they all have this exact same problem.
NigelL
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:24 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Wed Apr 06, 2016 3:20 am

Just done a quick test and it seems to depend on the previous state.

If there is already an active search, that is what I see.

If not, then it pops up with the cursor in the Search slot.

It would help if we had some of the regularly requested, and occasionally promised, keyboard shortcuts that some of us "mouse phobes" lust after.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Jogy » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:36 am

Kenward wrote:
It would help if we had some of the regularly requested, and occasionally promised, keyboard shortcuts that some of us "mouse phobes" lust after.


There are a bunch of new shortcuts that will be part of the next release:
Alt+D to focus to the main search box
Ctrl+Alt+O - Options dialog
Ctrl+Alt+D - Data Sources dialog
Ctrl+Alt+A - About dialog
Ctrl+Alt+H - Online help
Ctrl+Alt+R - Set preview right
Ctrl+Alt+B - Set preview bottom
Ctrl+Alt+F - Set preview off

Also, the searches in the navigation tree/favortites bar will have configurable shortcuts, with the defaults being set as
Email: Ctrl+Shift+E
Inbox: Ctrl+Shift+I
Sent Items: Ctrl+Shift+S
Attachments: Ctrl+Shift+T
Files: Ctrl+Shift+F
Documents: Ctrl+Shift+D
Pictures: Ctrl+Shift+P
Music: Ctrl+Shift+M
Calendar: Ctrl+Shift+Q
Tasks: Ctrl+Shift+K
Contacts: Ctrl+Shift+C
All: Ctrl+Shift+A

Jogy
Jogy
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 9:19 am

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby depaege » Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:24 am

I have the same issue and indeed it is very frustrating. Are there any plans to change this? Because it makes no sense having the focus 'nowhere'.
I want to use the tool in the most efficient way, so having the focus on the search field after ctrl-ctrl is a must.
@X1Support, please let us know if you plan to implement this.
Thanks,
Geert
depaege
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:21 am

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:08 am

Try the new beta version.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby depaege » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:07 am

Oh yes, I would love to test the new beta version. But where can I download it? I don't find a link on the site and when I 'check for updates' in my client, it says that I am already running the latest version.
My current version is 8.4.1, build 5003pj(64 bit)
Thanks.
depaege
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:21 am

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby depaege » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:11 am

Ignore my last post. I found it. It is a separate forum "X1® Search 8.5 Beta"
depaege
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:21 am

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby depaege » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:07 am

I tried version 8.5 Beta build 6001cs (64 bit) but it doesn't solve the problem. I notice that is it ok when I open the X1 search window from the system-tray, but it is NOT ok when I open the X1 search window by pressing ctrl-ctrl.

@X1 development, any idea if this is on the todo list, in order to improve efficiency of the tool?
depaege
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 6:21 am

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby NigelL » Wed Jun 29, 2016 1:00 am

I finally found a solution to this problem :-)

On some (but not all) PCs when you launch an app, Windows highlights the app on the taskbar by "flashing" it a couple of times. This moves the focus from the App to the taskbar - so any text input no longer goes to the newly launched App.

The Registry Edit solution shown in the following link works for me. http://superuser.com/questions/316879/h ... -7-taskbar
NigelL
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:24 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:32 am

depaege wrote:I tried version 8.5 Beta build 6001cs (64 bit) but it doesn't solve the problem. I notice that is it ok when I open the X1 search window from the system-tray, but it is NOT ok when I open the X1 search window by pressing ctrl-ctrl.

It works here. I have just tried it a few times in different scenarios.

When I use ctrl-ctrl X1 always opens with the cursor in the Search slot, regardless of where it was when I minimised X1.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:52 am

depaege wrote:I tried version 8.5 Beta build 6001cs (64 bit)


Try the newer Build 6001dp.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby NigelL » Thu Jun 30, 2016 12:03 am

Kenward wrote:Try the newer Build 6001dp.


FWIW, the latest beta (Build 6001dp) had the exact same problem on my work PC but not my home PC. Changing the registry entry, as indicated in the previous link, fixed it for me. I have no idea why this only affects some PCs...
NigelL
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:24 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Fri Jul 01, 2016 3:00 am

I have just noticed another wrinkle in this saga.

Yes, the focus does go to the Search slot, but not in a usable way.

When I start X1, I want to be able to set up a new search. I would like to be able to start typing that search into the Search slot.

Even though the cursor is in the right place I still have to use the mouse to focus on that slot and delete or type over the previous search.

It would be more efficient if I could start typing immediately.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Tod » Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:26 pm

There is another windows shortcut that might work if editing the registry doesn't solve the problem.

When you have X1 pinned to the task bar [WIN]+# will launch the application in that position. So, if I have X1 in the 8th spot, WIN+8 will launch X1 and doesn't have the problem of not taking focus (which I currently do have with the CTRL+CTRL shortcut - I haven't messed with my registry yet.

As to the problem of having to mouse/click into the search field - if you had previously left control in the search field, you can gain keyboard control by tapping ESC (or sometimes ESC+ESC). ESC+ESC should always work but will clear whatever was in the main search box, but at least you don't have to touch the mouse.
Tod
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: X1 Search does not get focus when launched

Postby Kenward » Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:42 am

Neat. Now I see why Windows has those pinned programs.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to General Discussion V8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ritarilt and 5 guests

cron