Folder Searching - Most Folders Not Indexed As Expected

Check in here for general discussion about Search Version 8

Moderator: Mods

Folder Searching - Most Folders Not Indexed As Expected

Postby Steve Tomalin » Thu May 04, 2017 3:27 am

Hi,

I'm fairly new to X1 so forgive me if I'm missing something obvious here, but I have searched through the forums and not found any information on this topic that is particularly useful to me.

There are occasions where I need to search for folders on my hard drive where the folder names contain particular terms, "Time Reports" for example. At this stage I'm not interested in the files within the folders, I just want a list of the folders that match my search criteria.

I have found I can filter on the 'Type' column, using the value 'File Folder', but this currently only produces a hit list of less than 10 folders on my drive, representing just a few items in my 'Favourtites' list (Windows 7, this is). If I then enter my search term in the 'Name' column, it produces the expected result, i.e. to reduce the hit list to just those folders that match my search criteria. This would suggest that X1 is capable of doing exactly what I need but, for some reason, the vast majority of the folders on my drive are not being indexed in the same way as those few within my 'Favourites' list. The items that are currently appearing in the hit list are genuine folders (as opposed to files representing links to folders, for example). Does anyone know of anything I can do to fix this?

I'm happy to perform a full re-index, if there is a logical reason to do so, e.g. a known configuration option I need to change. I don't really want to have to re-index on the off-chance that it might work the next time round; I'd like to try to understand the cause of the issue beforehand.