License activation

Check in here for general discussion about Search Version 8

Moderator: Mods

License activation

Postby danielgo » Thu Oct 09, 2014 3:19 am

Hi all,

My computer crashed, then I reinstalled the OS and X1. I didn't have the chance to deactivate first, so while I was activating, there's a message about my license limit.
I search in the help but didn't find how to solve this. Actually, how many devices that I can install X1 for a single license?

Thanks,
daniel
danielgo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:21 am
Location: Indonesia

Re: License activation

Postby Scott » Fri Oct 10, 2014 10:30 am

Hi Daniel,

Thank for your post.

Your license is good for use on 2 separate machines, we just ask that they not be used concurrently. For example, If you have X1 installed on a desktop at work and also on a laptop you take home in the evenings that's fine. We'd ask that they both not be running at the same time however.

Regarding the activation limit, I'm opening a case for you in our CRM and will get that handled for you and email you directly.

Thanks again for letting us know.

Scott
X1 Customer Support Team
Scott
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:15 pm
Location: Pasadena

Re: License activation

Postby rvdv@work » Wed Jan 07, 2015 3:31 am

Hello Daniel, Scott,
I have a similar issue here ! My hard drive crashed and it seems that it will be impossible to boot again therefore I'll have issues to deactivate the licence on the previous pc.
When I enter my LicenseID & LicensePassword it says:
Activation Error
-) Error(9102) A webservice call has returned a failure.
-) ExtendedError(5013) There are no remaining activations left for this license. Talk to our sales team to purchase more licenses or with our customer support if you believe this is an error.

Any chance this can be resetted?
Thanks,
Rvdv
rvdv@work
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: License activation

Postby Kenward » Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:00 am

File a support request. It should get a quicker response than this (mostly) user-to-user forum.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: License activation

Postby rvdv@work » Wed Jan 07, 2015 7:36 am

Indeed you're right it's better -> I'll contact support.
Thanks,
Rvdv
rvdv@work
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2012 1:54 am

Re: License activation

Postby danielgo » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:54 pm

Scott wrote:Hi Daniel,

Thank for your post.

Your license is good for use on 2 separate machines, we just ask that they not be used concurrently. For example, If you have X1 installed on a desktop at work and also on a laptop you take home in the evenings that's fine. We'd ask that they both not be running at the same time however.

Regarding the activation limit, I'm opening a case for you in our CRM and will get that handled for you and email you directly.

Thanks again for letting us know.

Scott
X1 Customer Support Team


Hi Scott,

Right after your response I did receive your email about the support team freeing up my inactive activations. But I still could not install on my second machine. I did not file a follow-up case right after that, hoping to figure out if the problem was from my side. Maybe I have installed it somewhere else, but now I'm pretty sure that I only installed it on my Desktop, nowhere else. I forgot to follow up this case until I really need X1 on my notebook at the moment.

Maybe it's worth mentioning that my support has expired. And I also want to ask if I am eligible to purchase only a support. My previous purchase of X1 Search on January 2014.

Look forward to receiving your feedback.

Thank you,
Daniel
danielgo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 7:21 am
Location: Indonesia

Re: License activation

Postby mrwul » Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:22 pm

We are in the same boat. Wanted to install X1 on a new pc and got the activation failed error...

''
Error(9102) A webservice call has returned a failure.
ExtendedError(5013) There are no remaining activations left for this license. Talk to our sales team to purchase more licenses or with our customer support if you believe this is an error.

''

Have sent support a request.
That said, I -assumed..- that it had something to do with X1 on my 'old' pc, which is still active as I am in the process of transferring files, etc.
So, I uninstalled X1 there, cleared registry entries, leftovers (using Revo Uninstaller Pro).
Then rebooted and re-started the X1 setup on the new pc.
Bad luck, that did not help.
Frankly, I would not know how the number of installations is counted: X1, on the old pc, has not been re-installed for quite a long period.

Anyway, hope support will reset the registration key soon.

=
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Re: License activation

Postby Kenward » Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:13 am

X1 needs to learn a few lessons on the activation front. If it has a draconian regime, then it needs to put in place an simple and transparent mechanism for people top fix problems.

Strangely, Microsoft is a pretty good role model. It tends to "forget" that you have installed something after a decent interval.

So if I install something like Office, if I try again quite some time later, something like a year or so, its automated system does not object.

Nuance, another baddie on the activation front, also allows more leeway than seems to be the case with X1.

I can understand that X1 wants to block people from installing its software once a week on a new PC, but if someone comes back and tries to install it again on the same PC a year after they first installed it, then my guess is that the user has got into reinstall mode and isn't trying to pirate.

There are ways of cheating the activation system. People will resort to those if they feel that they are being messed about with. Treat them fairly and most people will reciprocate.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: License activation

Postby mrwul » Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:19 am

Seems activation is a bit of a weak point with X1 viewing the threads posted here

//
"License activation"
"Activation, registration, licensing"
"How does "activation" work?"
"Cannot Activate X1. Cannot use X1."
//

Ah well, let's wait and see.

oh, btw, I think it wasn't necessary at all to remove X1 from old pc. Somewhere I read that 1 license covers 2 installs... (?)

==
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Re: License activation

Postby Kenward » Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:47 am

mrwul wrote:oh, btw, I think it wasn't necessary at all to remove X1 from old pc. Somewhere I read that 1 license covers 2 installs... (?)

==


True. But I recently switched my laptop to Windows 7 and an SSD. I usually remember to deactivate software when I do that, but I wouldn't be surprised if X1 gags when I try to reinstall there.

Just off to see what happens.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: License activation

Postby Kenward » Sat Jun 13, 2015 5:08 am

Guess what. I didn't get around to trying to activate X1 8 on my laptop. Probably just as well.

When I launched X1 today it demanded that I activate it. This is an installation that has been running ever since I paid for my licence when X1 8 went on sale.

My PC froze this morning, forcing a hard reboot. If this causes activation issues, then this is another serious problem with the activation regime.

PCs crash from time to time. Activation has to survive that. It would be nice if my indexes did too. We were promised that X1 would become more robust on that front. Did anything happen?
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: License activation

Postby mrwul » Sat Jun 13, 2015 7:54 am

Got a mail from X1 - the set my license key (or something).
It works fine now.

Do you mean to say that you faced a crash and thereafter you needed to re-activate?

Should not be the case, I guess. I too had a number crashes over the last couple of months.
If each crash / reset is counted as a new activation .. waow..

Don't know as from what number of activations it will reject another activation.

=
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Re: License activation

Postby Kenward » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:37 am

mrwul wrote:Do you mean to say that you faced a crash and thereafter you needed to re-activate?


Yes.
MK
X1 Search 8.5.2 - Build 6001si (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4068
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: License activation

Postby mrwul » Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:41 pm

Could be a one-off glitch though. The 2nd try, was it successful? There may be a 1000 reasons for your pc to freeze.
Have had regular freezes in the last couple of months. For regular users, even with above intermediate knowledge
of computers, it is close to impossible to find out the cause of it. Drivers, external USB drives, security software..
Freezes even with no program running and almost all startup programs de-activated. If it happens to often, usually
installing from scratch is the best option, or, alternatively, restoring an image of the last good working version,
if available.
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Re: License activation

Postby tq » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:12 am

Interesting thread. I just experienced the exact same issue (prompt for activation after hard crash of my PC) today.
I'm unable to activate and getting errors 9102 and 5013, and so now i'm waiting for X1 support to reply to my ticket.

It is very annoying - really hope X1 figures out a self serve model for fixing this.

Good to know i'm not alone tho.
tq
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:05 pm

Re: License activation

Postby tq » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:58 am

X1's excellent customer care resolved my issue on their backend within 2.5 hrs of me opening the ticket. That said, wish that hadn't been necessary. Software licensing ain't easy, but this system is too brittle.

X1 is a super product that has become better, more stable, and more essential to my workflow over several years of use. Unquestionably worth the support fee. But this is an area for improvement.
tq
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 11:05 pm


Return to General Discussion V8

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ritarilt, tolikkk and 9 guests

cron