installation problems (Vista SP1, build 3591)

Do you want to see something in X1? Do you dislike something about X1? Let us know!

Moderator: Mods

installation problems (Vista SP1, build 3591)

Postby stodd » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:56 am

I had difficulty installing build 3591 on Vista SP1. The setup started, got as far as the first menu interaction, then just died without comment.

I still don't know what the reason is. I was able to resolve this with a trick I had learned elsewhere.

1 - launch the setup
2 - wait for the first interaction screen to come up. Do NOT press interact.
3 - go to Procexp and find the msiexec process that is installing X1.
Find and copy its full call, in my case (all one line):

Code: Select all
"C:\Windows\System32\msiexec.exe" /I "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Wise Installation Wizard\WIS8DBD
274448C541D3B0492C5CD1CD364B_6_0.MSI" WISE_SETUP_EXE_PATH="C:\zips\x1_pro_client_3591.exe"


4 - Open a command window in admin mode
5 - Past the call into the command window
6 - Add the '/quiet' option before then /i

Code: Select all
"C:\Windows\System32\msiexec.exe" /quiet /I "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Wise Installation Wizard\
WIS8DBD274448C541D3B0492C5CD1CD364B_6_0.MSI" WISE_SETUP_EXE_PATH="C:\zips\x1_pro_client_3591.exe"


7 - Hit enter. You will get a silent install.
8 - You may now interact with the initial normal install, which will quietly go away.
9 - close the administrator command prompt (for safety, before you type something silly in there by mistake)

Why silent installs sometimes work when normal installs fail I do not know, but that's how it is ....

Stephen
stodd
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:49 am

Postby Kenward » Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:10 am

Just in case folks are worried, X1 installed here just fine on a Vista SP1 system.

For future reference, instead of searching for the msi file, something I have had to do in the past, you may find it easier to use something like winrar to unzip the setup executable.
MK
X1 Search 8.5 - Build 6001qm (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4016
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby stodd » Wed Apr 02, 2008 5:30 am

I am glad that usually X1 installs without problems ~ installers always seem a little curious and Vista certainly adds to their idiosyncrasies.

Unfortunately, this version of X1 does not seem to include a setup.exe or an msi file in the unzipped installation file, so if normal setup does fail you probably will need the more long-winded workaround from my first note.
stodd
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:49 am

Postby Greg Dawes » Mon Apr 07, 2008 12:18 pm

Hi stodd,

We've seen this particular issue with a few users. Please review this forum post to see if it helps: http://forums.x1.com/viewtopic.php?p=10503#10503

Thanks for your help.
Greg Dawes
QA Engineer
X1 Technologies
http://www.x1.com/company/contact-us
Greg Dawes
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Pasadena, CA


Return to Feature Requests and Gripes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron