Problems viewing PDF files

This forum is to discuss general things about X1.

Moderator: Mods

Problems viewing PDF files

Postby Kenward » Mon Apr 28, 2008 8:15 am

For me, a major reason for using X1 is to index and find thousands of PDF files.

One issue I have with the latest version of X1 in Vista Pro (SP1) is that when it finds PDF files, it sometimes takes a long time to render them. This is so bad that it sometimes fails completely.

It isn't just a size thing. Some big (8MB) files show in an instant, while others take 10 to 20 seconds.

The documents open quickly in Acrobat 7.

Other PDF files will not render. Instead I get a big "X" where the image should be. This is usually for files that I have scanned into my PC as PDF files.

Other software offers options on how you render PDF files, with or without Adobe plugins. It would be nice to have ways to tweak what X1 does with PDF files.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Kenward » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:18 am

I have now encountered on PDF file that brings X1 to a grinding halt.

Get your own copy here:

http://www.racfoundation.org/files/Main%20document.pdf
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby tjh » Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:47 pm

Kenward wrote:I have now encountered on PDF file that brings X1 to a grinding halt.

Hmm.

Well, it doesn't bring my X1 to a grinding halt. It loaded up fine the first time I viewed it. Now, however, I get an message saying:
Error
Unknown Error

So there's certainly something odd about this file!

How do you get X1 to grind to a halt? Just trying to preview the file?
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby tjh » Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:52 am

Replying to myself here... But I did notice this morning that my X1Service kept pegging itself up high in the CPU usage stats. It'd stop after a bit, then start again. Didn't bring it to a halt, but this file certainly posses magical properties that aren't good for X1.
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby Kenward » Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:21 am

tjh wrote:How do you get X1 to grind to a halt? Just trying to preview the file?

That's it. Find the file in X1, and then try to view it.

I can't even move away from the file to view another one. X1 just sits there "Not Responding".

Now that you mention it, core1 of my processor seems to be working overtime.

Not for the first time I get the feeling that X1 needs to be more intelligent in how it handles "troublesome" files.

We all know that X1 buy in viewers and stuff, so they should also throw the problem back at the source of the viewers.

By the way, the file shows no sign of indexing problems, the file is indexed and I get "Stellent OK".
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby tjh » Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:29 am

I agree X1 should take this up with whoever is providing them a PDF decoder/viewer.

It's strange that I don't experience the same problem, it just won't display it for me. I will do some more testing on my laptop tonight to see what was causing the X1Service to peg itself to a CPU, it might not be related. It did seem to happen after I downloaded that file though.
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby Kenward » Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:00 am

I have found other problems with PDF files that have nothing to do with X1. In my browser for example. It seems to be down to how Acrobat works.

I sometimes find that it helps to kill Acrobat in TaskManager.

Maybe you run on a different version of Adobe Readers and/or Acrobat. I use Acrobat 7.

I refuse to run on Adobe's upgrade treadmill, especially when in the UK they charge us twice as much for Acrobat as they charge in the USA. Someone needs to tell them that a £1=$1 exchange rate is robbery. Even Microsoft isn't that rapacious.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby stodd » Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:47 am

I recommend Foxit reader for pdfs. Much lighter and less error prone than Adobe's own. There are a few features it is missing, so I do need to keep an Adobe reader around just in case, but very rarely need it. Won't help with the X1 issues I am afraid, though.

http://www.foxitsoftware.com/pdf/rd_intro.php
stodd
X1 Power User
X1 Power User
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:49 am

Postby w0qj » Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:21 am

Could Foxit reader read your PDF file?

I personally attest that twice, Foxit file could read the PDF file that Acrobat Reader says is "corrupted".

(Too bad Foxit could not save the PDF file to get rid of the error).
Rgds / Mr. Wong

"It is what X1 can do with the information found that is important."
w0qj
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:53 am
Location: Hong Kong

Postby Kenward » Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:32 am

There is no problem in reading the file. It is just how it renders in X1.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Tod » Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:29 am

I see three different behaviors when I try to preview the file that Kenward gave a link too:
1. PDF previews OK
2. Preview window displays "Error Unknown Error"
3. X1 Hangs

I can get all three behaviors pretty randomly - still looking to see if I can characterize why one occurs instead of another.

Can you verify if you can get multiple behaviors, too?
Tod
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:26 pm
Location: Pasadena, CA

Postby Kenward » Wed Apr 30, 2008 1:53 pm

I don't see "normal behaviour"!

For me, it hangs.

tjh gets an unknown error.

I think you should claim a prize for getting a hat trick of results!
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Kenward » Wed May 14, 2008 9:42 am

This one continues to bug me. And with more and more files that work perfectly in Acrobat, Reader and just about anything else I use. It is just X1 that gags on these files.

Size seems to be an issue.

Does anyone have any thoughts on this issue of X1 freezing when asked to view some PDF files?

The annoying thing is that I first found this in Windows XP and moving to a relatively clean installation of Vista Pro has not solved the problem.

I now find that I have to force X1 to close and restart on most sessions with PDF files. Not what I call user friendly.

I am happy to pass on all files that break X1. Most recently, these have included the spiffy glossy magazine from Boeing. Unfortunately, back issues are well hidden.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby tjh » Fri May 30, 2008 5:54 am

I have noticed a few times this week X1 gagging on PDF files. It's not always PDF though, a few times as well X1 got caught in the 100% CPU spike, just while search for emails.

It is worth opening a proper case about this? It seems there's a bug somewhere deep in X1, anything that I can do to help track it down I'm happy to do.

Tim
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby Kenward » Fri May 30, 2008 7:11 am

The folks at X1 did start to investigate this issue. But I don't think they ever reached any conclusion.

Oddly, I have not seen this lately. That may be a coincidence, or it may be because I installed Adobe Reader 8.

I have since removed that to try to find out what it is that is preventing my screensaver and power saver from kicking in.

Which versions of Adobe's bloated stuff do you own?
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby tjh » Fri May 30, 2008 7:16 am

On the PC that X1 locks up on, I only have Adobe 8 (latest version) installed, MS Office 2003 SP3 and that's about it!

EditAdobe 8 Reader I should have said.
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby Kenward » Fri May 30, 2008 8:58 am

It might help if you could say a bit about what you mean by "locks up" and how you get it to happen.

For me it is when I try to get the viewer to show a particular PDF file.

I have never had problems with email.

If I did, my first move would be to apply scanpst.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby tjh » Fri May 30, 2008 9:05 am

Good point.

By locks up I mean the GUI becomes unresponsive and X1.exe takes up 100% of the CPU.

I see this sometimes when searching for text in large PDF files.

I have also seen this happen twice today, searching for a Email. This email did have a 2M Excel .xls file attached to it.

I've already done a scanpst and scanost, neither of them find any problems with the mail files.

Tim
TiM
X1 Search v8.5.1 - 6001se (64 Bit)
tjh
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 400
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:12 am
Location: Napier, New Zealand

Postby mrwul » Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:58 pm

Hello,

I am afraid that this issue has not been solved :cry:

Have a lot of big PDF files and the large ones donot know up in the preview.

When 1x click on them X1 says : File has been index, but in the preview X1 does not display anything or in some cases "Unknown Error".

The threshold is around 33.5mb - a file of 33.496mb shows up in the preview, one of 33.570mb (and bigger) does not.

I admit, these are big files, but there are a lot of pdf-files that are much bigger (scanned magazines).
Note: documents are searchable, so I can open them and do a search within Adobe and find what I need, only they donot show up in the preview.


- How come?
and
- Will this problem be solved in 6.5 ?

thanks
==
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Postby Kenward » Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:04 am

mrwul wrote:The threshold is around 33.5mb - a file of 33.496mb shows up in the preview, one of 33.570mb (and bigger) does not.


Well spotted. You have put your finger on something there. I see exactly the same thing.

My indexing is set to a limit of 60MB for a file. Working down through a list of PDF files sorted by size, preview is blank until I hit a file that is "33,188,912". The next one up, "34,188,912," describes itself as "file indexed" but it will not display.

X1 also displays an erroneous status message when I get up to the handful of PDF files that are above 60MB. Instead of complaining about the size, X1 shows "excluded folder" in the status.

By the way, if you own Acrobat, you can shrink the size of files, sometimes dramatically, by using the "Reduce file size" feature. I have just dropped one of my 36MB file to 7MB with this. (I still use Acrobat 7 because I don't like Adobe's extortionate price for upgrades.)

X1 at least lets you find the files that could benefit from this treatment.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Kenward » Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:46 am

PS You can create a saved search for PDF files ">33000000".
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby mrwul » Mon Jan 05, 2009 11:44 am

Will the saved search display the pdf-content ?
By the way: I am back to 6.1 because of the 'viewer not intalled' error.
See the other thread.
=
mrwul
X1 Super User
X1 Super User
 
Posts: 324
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 12:59 am

Postby Kenward » Mon Jan 05, 2009 2:43 pm

mrwul wrote:Will the saved search display the pdf-content ?

No, but it does help to isolate files that you may be missing.

In my case it is literally a handful.

And with some of them I can tell Acrobat to reduce the file size.

If I was really obsessive, I could also split big files into smaller chunks that would render.

But first X1 should address the issue that you raised.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby Greg Dawes » Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:39 am

mrwul wrote:When 1x click on them X1 says : File has been index, but in the preview X1 does not display anything or in some cases "Unknown Error".

The threshold is around 33.5mb - a file of 33.496mb shows up in the preview, one of 33.570mb (and bigger) does not.
Hey Guys,

Thanks for letting me know about this; I've submitted a bug report to our developers.
Greg Dawes
QA Engineer
X1 Technologies
http://www.x1.com/company/contact-us
Greg Dawes
X1 Rep
X1 Rep
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:46 am
Location: Pasadena, CA

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby xthamcore » Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:31 am

X1 preview opens the first item on the list of found documents.
When this is a .pdf file X1 seems to block/stall/hangs on it.
Problem is that I cannot move to the next file because X1 is blocked.
If I wait for a really long time, leaving X1 by itself and going on with my work, it is unblocked as long as I do not click on a .pdf file to preview, because then it blocks again (these pdf files are handouts made with powerpoint and then turned into a pdf file)
xthamcore
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:06 am

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby shenglu » Thu Oct 13, 2011 7:10 pm

When 1X click on the X1, said: file has been indexed, but in the preview X1 in some cases do not show any or "Unknown error." Threshold is about 33.5mb - a 33.496mb file displayed in the preview, Gadgets 33.570mb one (and greater) do not.
Last edited by shenglu on Sun Oct 16, 2011 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
shenglu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:20 am

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby Kenward » Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:14 am

I don't get an error, but I see the same behaviour. PDF files above this size do not display. Just a blank page.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby xthamcore » Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:29 am

would it be useful to send you one of these pdf files that block my x1?
Is there a way to send you an attachment?
xthamcore
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:06 am

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby Kenward » Fri Oct 14, 2011 10:32 am

If it really is a size thing, then that probably wouldn't help. I have several here. I suspect that they will have their own over at X1.

If you do want to share huge files, then one of those "cloud" services, such as Dropbox, would probably be the best approach. Or if these are files that you retrieved from the web, a link to them.

By the way, I run regular "shrink" sessions with Acrobat (not Reader) to reduce the size of files.

Far too many people create bloated files that can be up to 10 times as big as they need be, often because they are intended for a printer to use. Acrobat can convert them into a more web and screen friendly resolution.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Re: Problems viewing PDF files

Postby xthamcore » Mon Oct 17, 2011 1:41 pm

the files that block my X1 are never bigger than 4.9 MB (because I have to mail them)
xthamcore
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 4:06 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 48 guests