Outlook Toolbar

Do you want to see something in X1? Do you dislike something about X1? Let us know!

Moderator: Mods

Outlook Toolbar

Postby mattsday » Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:22 pm

Hi, when I change the outlook toolbar settings (to remove all of the buttons except the search field) and reload outlook, all the buttons come back!

This is annoying to the point of me wanting to use another product... Is there a fix for what I consider obnoxious behaviour?

Matt
mattsday
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:20 pm

Postby Kenward » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:03 am

I don't use the Outlook toolbar. It seems to be a waste of space.

The general Windows toolbar is worth investigating.

You may find that the Outlook toolbar behaves like this one and picks up its buttons from your X1 "Favorite" searches.

If you do switch to another product, perhaps you could let us know when you find one that lets you do what you want. Then other folks who agree with you can save themselves time in their search.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby mattsday » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:24 am

Thanks for your answer, I was very tired when I wrote it, the threat was empty... Just I only access X1 via Outlook (too much email!) and really love the toolbar, just I only want the single search bar -- nothing else.

The help -> report a bug link doesn't work for me :-(

Matt
mattsday
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:20 pm

Postby Kenward » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:39 am

After reading your note, I decided to play around with the Outlook toolbars.

At first I couldn't get it to work at all.

Then I decided to experiment with creating a new toolbar in Outlook. Then copying buttons from the X1 toolbar to the new one.

When I did this, only the X1 button worked, starting X1. None of the others produce any effect.

Actually, the effect seems to be erratic. It works and then later searches dig u the previous search.

At least I know have a button in Outlook to start X1. Then again, I also have a keyboard button for that.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby mattsday » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:40 am

Temporary fix:
http://na1.salesforce.com/sol/public/se ... 0000007h19

Still doesn't let me remove the buttons such as the "X1" button and the <and> buttons. Real pain when toolbar space is limited on this crappy 1024x768 corporate laptop...

Matt
mattsday
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:20 pm

Postby Kenward » Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:29 am

That's the same trick you have to use to tweak the Windows Toolbar.

Generally, X1 needs to give users a bit more control over the interface.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby w0qj » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:46 pm

Hi mattsday,

Many thanks for sharing your helpful tip!

We've included your tip at the Tips_Forum for everyone to see...

http://forums.x1.com/viewtopic.php?p=5309#5309
Rgds / Mr. Wong

"It is what X1 can do with the information found that is important."
w0qj
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:53 am
Location: Hong Kong

Postby Kenward » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:26 pm

pgk wrote:I guess of a user says 'there is a bug', the answer shouldn't be 'stop using that feature'. Matt, did you try to file a bug report? This was mentioned as a bug a while ago (http://forums.x1.com/viewtopic.php?t=2381) so perhaps downloading the latest version fixes this. -pgk


Still there in the latest version.

One person's bug is another's feature request.

I wouldn't class this one as a bug so much as a pain.

Too much software fails to hold customisation to warrant true bug status.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4150
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to Feature Requests and Gripes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests