VERY SLOW OPENING OFFICE DOCUMENTS

Do you want to see something in X1? Do you dislike something about X1? Let us know!

Moderator: Mods

VERY SLOW OPENING OFFICE DOCUMENTS

Postby stanlori » Fri Sep 22, 2006 3:02 pm

I NOW HAVE TO WAIT 30 SECONDS TO OPEN AN OFFICE DOCUMENT EVEN IF I OPEN IT WROM WINDOWS EXPLORER. IT OPENS VERY FAST IF I OPEN WORD FIRST AND THEN OPEN THE DOCUMENT FROM WORD. THIS DID NOT HAPPEN BEFORE I LOADED x1! COULD MY SETTINGS BE WRONG OR IS THERE A BUG? i ALSO HAVE ACROBAT 7.0 LOADED :(
stanlori
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:52 pm

Postby Kenward » Sat Sep 23, 2006 2:05 am

What happen if you turn off X1 indexing?

Does Word load as quickly as it did before you installed X1?

You don't tell us anything about the state of your computer. Performance depends on many things. How much memory you have, your operating system, the speed of your processor, even the graphics card. Not knowing anything about your PC, it isn't possible to suggest where, or even if, you may be short on resources.


PS Do you have to "shout"? All those capital letters are hard to read and usually considered bad etiquette.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby stanlori » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:05 pm

Sorry about the caps. They were left on by accident. I have very fast computer with 2 gb of main memory. I think that there is a conflict with another program. lets drop this until I research it some more.
stanlori
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:52 pm

Postby Kenward » Mon Sep 25, 2006 1:30 am

Fine. But do report back your findings, even if something else proves to be the culprit.

On the caps, have you tried setting the "Accessibility Options" in the Windows Control Panel?

I have "ToggleKeys" set so that the keyboard beeps when I hit the "capslock" key. It warns me when my banana fingers hit the wrong keys.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK

Postby stanlori » Mon Sep 25, 2006 6:51 am

Thanks for the help. Looks like the culpret is SHOPSAFE software. Not sure what it is conflicting with but when I turn it off everything goes back to normal. It worked fine on my last computer and seemed ok untill I loaded X1 and Adobe Acrobat and some other sw. They are upgrading their sw and I will wait to see if it fixes the problem. X1 is great.
stanlori
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:52 pm

Postby Kenward » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:22 pm

Thanks for reporting back.

SHOPSAFE is new to me. Looking at what Google throws up, I think I can live without it. There are better ways of staying safe on line, especially if it buggers up Word.
MK
X1 Search 8.6.1 - Build 6003fa (64-bit)
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Windows 10 Home 32-bit
No, I have nothing to do with X1, just a user since 2004.
Kenward
X1 Guru
X1 Guru
 
Posts: 4149
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 am
Location: UK


Return to Feature Requests and Gripes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 46 guests